Overland/Expedition Build - 2015 RAM 1500 Laramie

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Exdeus

Reaction score
Ram Year
2017 RAM 2500
Engine
Cummins
Greetings all. I've seen a few overland style builds recently, and the awesome part of it is the RAM 1500/2500 platform is starting to get a lot of acknowledgement and aftermarket support. I've been working on my truck now for about 8 months, and thought it may be fun to share what I've done so far, and what I am planning to do going forward. I'm interested in any insight that anyone has along the way as well. This vehicle is my daily driver as well which creates its own unique challenge.

Also, if I can answer any questions, please let me know as I'm happy to help!

Factory Specs:
  • Year: 2015
  • Model / Trim: Laramie Crew Cab, 5'7" bed
  • Engine: 5.7L V8 Hemi
  • Transmission: 8 speed 8HP70
  • Gear Ratio: 3.21
  • Fuel Tank: 32 gallon
  • Purchase Mileage: ~54,000
Currently Added to Truck:
  • Suspension / Wheels / Tires:
    • Icon Vehicle Dynamics Stage 2.0 Suspension System
    • Icon Vehicle Dynamics Uniball Upper Control Arms
    • Nitto Ridge Grappler Tires 295/70/17
    • Method Racing NV 17" 5x139 Wheels
  • Lighting:
    • Rigid Adapt 50" Light Bar
  • Storage:
    • Rhino Rack Backbone System
    • Rhino Rack Pioneer System
      • Recovery Track Storage Attachment
      • LED Spot Light Attachment System
    • Leitner Designs Rack System
      • 1 Universal Attachment
      • 1 Large Compartment
      • 1 Small Compartment
      • 1 Recovery Track Attachment
  • Navigation / Communication:
    • Yaesu FTM-400DR HAM radio
    • iPad
    • Dual Electronics XGPS150A GPS bluetooth receiver
    • Garmin inReach Mini
  • Camping Setup
    • 23Zero Byron Rooftop Tent
    • Rhino Rack 270 Batwing Awning
  • Recovery Gear
    • Treaty Oak Offroad Load Equalizing Bridle