Transmission help needed.

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

ic1334

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Hello,
Newbie here,
I recently bought a project 09 Ram 1500 crew cab 5.7. One of the issues it had was a bad trans, so i bought a low mileage used one from a place that specializes in Ram trucks. Everything looked fine, all the bolts lined up, the plugs all matched and snapped in with no problem. Everything went fine until i got to the last 2 pieces. The rubber support that bolts to the trans and the crossmember didn't match up.I had ream out 2 holes on the side to fit,the other 2 were fine.
Now I'm not sure if i got the right trans or how to tell if i did,but it is all back together. I didn't fill it yet or change the filter yet, but i noticed when i moved the shifter down to drive it showed a 4, not sure if thats because something wrong with it or because it has no fluid in it?

How do i tell if its the wrong trans and would the trans show gear 4 from low fluid?
Thanks
Eric

Ramzaq

Reaction score
Ram Year
2009 CC 4X4 3.55 Big Horn
Engine
Hemi 5.7
I am no expert here on transmissions so I am just guessing.

If the trans has a problem it will go into 4th gear, commonly called "limp mode". Maybe with no fluid the computer is detecting a problem and sending it to 4th.

Your trans should be a 545RFE transmission

Ratket

Reaction score
Ram Year
2018 1500
Engine
Hemi 5.7
^ could be -
Sounds like it could be a older transmission since you had to adjust the the bracketry on the crossmember a little bit. Someone with more knowledge should chime in shortly. When they go into limo mode I am not sure if they show the gear they drop to or not.

OP
OP
I

ic1334

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Here's what i found out. First the tranny came from an 2010 2500. Second the new filters and fluid didn't help or change anything.