2015 Ram Laramie

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

DOlds

Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
I am helping my mom look for a truck. She found a used 2015 Ram Laramie crew cab 4x4, 5.7l with 147,000 miles. They are asking 19,900.

Is that to many miles to buy for this type of truck? (approx 18,000 miles a year)

How long should the motor last?

These are the questions she is asking at the moment.

I am new to the RAM and 5.7l, I bought a 2021 Ram Laramie about 1.5 years ago.

Please any information that would be helpful.

Thank you for your time.

CamperMike

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
I know some of these trucks have issues with the lifter and cam and I really wouldn't want to pay that much for one with that many miles... but then again I'm a bit cheap. It probably does have a lot more miles left, but you never know for sure. If she wants all the options, it may just be that expensive. If she can do with a few less creature comforts, I would look for a BigHorn edition that is newer and/or less miles. Many still have heated seats and steering wheel, and the 8.4 uconnect so it isn't really stripped down... just cloth interior. My 2018 also has the parking sensors which I think are really nice to have.

RamDiver

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Scan auto-trader prices and used truck prices at the dealers to get an idea.

The used market where I live is insane and not even close to a smart buy if I can spend a few more $ and get brand new with an extended warranty.

Keep in mind that these are Canadian $ and trucks are much more expensive here. This is a used dealer not far away.

Last edited:

T. Anders

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Damn the used truck market is crazy right now. I paid 32k a little over two years ago for my 17 Laramie that had 22k miles on it.

Jeepwalker

Reaction score
Ram Year