Doing an oil change and....

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

lpfm1990

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Cummins 6.7
How common is the trans oil pan to start rotting like this.... it sounds solid when I knock on it... but that flaking and layers of rust have me worried abit.... on the 68rfe is there a better oil pan to go with (like an aluminum or stainless one?)
fc5f86197965fe2f7a60c62e135876bc.jpgb05128a13ef2a2e2dd56165646bcc36c.jpgdaab47d6fb225c4f8e0cfd09478a000b.jpg

Didn’t realize some pics came out blurry, can take a few more when I get home and finish my oil change (had to run my father for blood work the hospital needs ASAP)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

nwsewell

Reaction score
Ram Year
2019 Classic
Engine
5.7 Hemi
I'm no expert, but that doesnt look normal. You should definitely swap pans and fluids asap.

Sent from my VS996 using Tapatalk

OP
OP
lpfm1990

lpfm1990

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Cummins 6.7
I'm no expert, but that doesnt look normal. You should definitely swap pans and fluids asap.

Sad part is, trans fluid only has 7-8k on it, it was dropped at the dealer when the rtv pan gasket failed and started leaking trans fluid.... I didn’t notice this back in May when I was under the truck doing the transfer case, diff fluids, and fuel filters

nwsewell

Reaction score
Ram Year
2019 Classic
Engine
5.7 Hemi
Sad part is, trans fluid only has 7-8k on it, it was dropped at the dealer when the rtv pan gasket failed and started leaking trans fluid.... I didn’t notice this back in May when I was under the truck doing the transfer case, diff fluids, and fuel filters

Damn, thats rough. Sorry to hear about the troubles.
Again, i am no expert, I know next to nothing, you should definitely get some more experienced opinions.

OP
OP
lpfm1990

lpfm1990

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Cummins 6.7