Rebuilding a 47RE transmission. How hard?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

svdsinner

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.9L V8
While it is cold, I'm thinking through what I might do to my RWD '01 2500 Diesel in the spring when it warms up. Its 47RE transmission has had several problems lately, mostly from 2 incidents where the cooler lines broke and the fluid leaked out. It has never shifted well into 4th/OD after the second time the lines broke and it lost fluid. I've been watching some videos on rebuilding 47RE transmissions and it looks like something I could do, skill-wise, but I want to make sure I'm not delusional. I'm an above-average shade-tree mechanic (but certainly not a professional mechanic) that has pulled engines, rebuilt engines, etc. but I've never touched a transmission.

1) Am I delusional in thinking I can pull this off as my first transmission rebuild? Are there special tools that I should expect to buy? (E.G. Bearing installation tools for the specific bearings, or something like that) Are there any critical phases I need to be aware of? (E.G. If you don't get the seal for the blah-blah bearing installed exactly level, bad things happen)