replacing cv axle

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

BlackSheepRebel

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
breaking this out from a related thread since that got long, had more to do with failed attempts at patching the broken boot, and having this better titled and organized may help someone in the future. apologies if this is covered somewhere, searched a bit and couldn't find answers to all my questions so decided to consolidate them here.

first, as a general overview, i know it's third gen but this video seemed solid to me to understand the task at hand (i'm not a mechanic, i just enjoy trying, so i tend to watch a lot of videos before tackling anything):

i managed to find the cv axle in stock at mopar.com. when trying to order the intermediate shaft, even though it shows in stock the order gets cancelled with "none in inventory". here's what i'm looking at:

i understand most replacements do both, but thinking i should be able to re-use mine since it is fairly new. they shouldn't be siezed yet. if it doesn't separate and comes out as one piece, i think i can (gently) clamp the smooth part of the stub shaft and bang on the old cv until it separates. that's my theory. i do worry about the c clips and o ring. has anyone transferred these, or do you recommend always replacing both?

on the install, i've found some remove the whole knuckle and others keep the lower ball joint attached. i'm thinking real mechanics get crap out of their way to make the job easier, but DIYers like myself prefer to avoid taking things apart that aren't strictly necessary. i'll see when i get into it, but any concerns with just pivoting the knuckle out of the way vs fully removing it? maybe there's more concern of separating the new cv shaft while flexing it into place?