Gear Ration Swap

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Jerry1976

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
I bought a 2010 2500 SLT to haul a travel trailer and it has the 3.73 gear ratio and therefore a peak towing capacity of around 9,000. We need to haul a bit over 10,000 and I was thinking of swapping the ratio to the 4.10 to improve the capacity.
How much would this cost? Is it even worth doing?

BossHogg

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.7L Cummins
I wouldn't think it isn't worth it unless you are doing a lot of stop and go driving and a lot of pulling. I would try towing it first for a season before making the decision but I'm a bit on the frugal side.

OP
OP
J

Jerry1976

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Thanks Boss. Do you think the truck will pull it okay with the current gear ratio?
I'm totally new to towing anything and also on the frugal side.

TRCM

USN, Retired
Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
2012 1500 Laramie CC 4x4
Engine
5.7 Hemi
I bought a 2010 2500 SLT to haul a travel trailer and it has the 3.73 gear ratio and therefore a peak towing capacity of around 9,000. We need to haul a bit over 10,000 and I was thinking of swapping the ratio to the 4.10 to improve the capacity.
How much would this cost? Is it even worth doing?

Changing the gear ratio WILL NOT INCREASE THE LEGAL TOWING CAPACITY.

It will let it tow it easier, but the legal capacity is on the door of the truck.....no matter what you do, short of paying well north of 6 figures to get it re-certified, will change that.

Hate to say it, but this is why you do research BEFORE buying the truck and/or camper.

You need to get a smaller camper/bigger truck or you will be in trouble if you ever get caught or have a wreck. You will be well over your legal limits.

mtofell

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 6.4