When is a diesel engine overkill??

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Big_Sarge

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Diesel
So I'm a looking a getting a truck within the next year and a half and trying to do as much research as I can before purchase. I am very interested in both the 1500 with 3.0 turbo diesel and the 2500 with the 6.7 Turbo diesel (I prefer the 2500).I have no experience with a diesel, but what leads me to wanting one is the fuel economy and reliability. I am a Soldier so driving home on leave it saves in fuel costs, helps when moving across country, and honestly I just want a truck.

I plan on purchasing this truck and keeping it for 15+ years. I hear cummins run forever which is why I am leaning toward the 2500. I understand the extra cost that can come with owning a diesel i.e. more expensive oil changes, parts are more expensive to replace. If you wanna keep a diesel running you got to stay up on changing all fluids and filters. All worth the investment in my eyes.

With that said my biggest questions are:
1) Should I steer away from a 6.7 diesel engine if I only use it as a daily driver?
2) if I never tow anything with the 6.7 will it lead to engine issues?
3) is the 3.0 Turbo diesel worth the investment? (I hear mixed reviews)
4) can I make a gas engine hold up for 15+ years

Thanks for all the help and opinions in advance!

BBRAM2500

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine