Also new to Ram.. thoughts on new purchase?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Skeer

Reaction score
Ram Year
2002 Ram 1500 4x4 SLT
Engine
So as the title suggests, I am a Dodge noob. Anyway long story short, just moved to Montana and used trucks here are hella expensive if you want under 100k miles. At any rate yesterday I found and test drove a 2002 1500 5.9l crew cab with 132k miles. Decoding the VIN tells me it's got a 3.55 rear end.
Now I know the 360 was never known for it's fuel efficiency, and that's not a huge concern of mine. However what do you guys think of it tackling the many mountain passes and hills here in west-central MT?

Also, and I am googling at the same time, but since each and every vehicle make/model has their own sets of issues... what are some common things to look for specifically with this year and engine?

I mentioned that I test drove it.. about 15 miles-ish. Tranny shifts were solid and quick. Acceleration was good (even for 245 horses), it gained interstate speeds quickly enough. Braking was actually great for her girth, no vibrations, shimmies, pulses or pulls.

Looking underneath I saw no evidence of leaks, engine, tranny nor rear end-wise. The interior was immaculate. The previous owner must have taken good care because you could have dropped your sandwich face down on a seat and been safe enough to continue eating it. I noticed no dash cracks and driving over two sets of railroad tracks heard no tell-tale squeaks, thuds or thumps.

Give me ya'lls thoughts, is it worth $8900?
Thanks

blackbeautyhemi

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 HEMI
Judging by everything you covered it sounds like you checked everything out pretty well and sounds like it's worth that price tag. What shape is the body in? Does it have the usual rear fender well rust?