Catch Can Return Line

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Tray Burge

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 Hemi
Hey, I admit it, I'm not an expert, but why is everyone running there return lines back into the TB, isn't that just blowing oiled air back into the TB? Is it better to run a single line out to a can with a breather on top like the Morroso ones I've seen... just say'n? Please advise!

Dubstep Shep

Reaction score
Ram Year
2014 R/T
Engine
5.7L Hemi
You have to run a return line back to the intake. That's how you get your vac that pulls the air out of your crankcase.

OP
OP
Tray Burge

Tray Burge

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 Hemi
Why does the Vararam kit come with just a air filter to put on the end of the line? Isn't air escaping the crankcase if it's just vented? I admit I'm not a mechanic.

charonblk07

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
F1-A forged 349ci
The small air filter is from the fresh air make up line, you still need to route the PCV line (the one the catch can is installed on) back to the intake manifold to pull vacuum.

OP
OP
Tray Burge

Tray Burge

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 Hemi
****! I've been running it like this for a couple of months, hope I haven't caused excessive gum/varnish on my valves and internals. Now I GOT to get a catch can.

Dubstep Shep

Reaction score
Ram Year
2014 R/T
Engine
5.7L Hemi
Why does the Vararam kit come with just a air filter to put on the end of the line? Isn't air escaping the crankcase if it's just vented? I admit I'm not a mechanic.

The small air filter is from the fresh air make up line, you still need to route the PCV line (the one the catch can is installed on) back to the intake manifold to pull vacuum.