97 ram 1500 4x4 lift advice please

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Rcr55

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.9 360 magnum
I have a 1997 dodge ram 1500 4wd and I want to lift it. Suspension lift. Does anyone know what I need? And also tires. I'd like to get those big tires other have for their trucks. All terrain I think. How big should i get them? Sorry I'm new to this. Thanks for any of your help.

Johnn123

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7L Hemi
There are lots of threads so do a search and learn about the subject.

Anything up to about 2.5"-3" Just longer springs and an add a leaf will cut it... Anything up you'll need the longer springs, longer shocks, track bar drop, pitman arm drop, add a leafs or lift leaves for the rear. Anything over a 33" tire will make the front end wear out way quicker then normal. They really werent designed for that. There are people that do run 35's on them, highly recommended you regear the axles to 4.56 to avoid extra drive train stress. Not a good idea to leave stock gears. All-terrain tires arent as aggressive as MT tires, but tread last longer. Cost a bit less to.

OP
OP
R

Rcr55

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.9 360 magnum
Ill go with a 3 inch suspension lift then. What is a good price for a 3 inch lift kit? Where did you buy your kit? So using 33 tires will be fine right? Without changing the gears or i still have to change the stock gears?

OP
OP
R

Rcr55

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.9 360 magnum
What about 31"? Or no?
Yea I did but I wanted to hear from people who have already know about the subject.

Johnn123

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7L Hemi
31" is about the same as a 265 IIRC. Gonna look kinda small IMO. Would be perfect for the gears you got. 265's would prob look alright. Look at the pics of my truck as that is what yours would look like with that lift and 285's.

OP