Just bought a '78 w150 Power Wagon - looking for advice and tip

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

southbounder

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hi folks,

I'm new to Mopar and I just picked up a cherry old Power Wagon that's been in a barn for a number of years. I'd appreciate any advice as I get started on getting it ready to be a reliable driver; I've never had a truck that sat up for so long and I'm an amateur wrencher, so any/all suggestions are appreciated, whether general or specific to these trucks.
Here's the summary:

1978 w150 Power Wagon "Southbounder" edition. It's a 318 with a 3-spd auto, NP 203 full-time transfer case, and I'm not sure about the gearing.

It's a GA truck from 1978 with 100k on the odometer and everything is surprisingly clean. The owner cranked it up easily, idled, and drove in all gears with an auxiliary fuel can feeding it since the tank is surely full of gas varnish. All the electricals seem to be working including all lights, but there are a couple of jumper wires in the fuse box that will need to be sorted.

My draft to-do list so far:
  • Get service manuals! (any suggestions?)
  • Drop and wash out the tank (it's original plastic!)
  • clean fuel lines (blow out with air?), add new fuel filter(s)
  • Oil change / radiator flush / check all radiator hoses
  • disassemble and clean carb
  • check and adjust valves?
  • ignition upgrade? (rotor, coils, plugs, wires) and check timing
  • Lube all grease points (including the hidden front wheel bearing zirk I've learned about)
  • check brake lines / change brake fluid / shoes / pads
  • change transmission fluid? gear oil?

Here are some pictures:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B-faIta9e_-EUFpNd2NYbDBvMkE/edit?usp=sharing
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B-faIta9e_-EY21MVUpQREVicHc/edit?usp=sharing