05 Dakota 4.7 P0300 Misfire

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

mdetwiler

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
I'm a newbie to this so excuse me if I don't have the proper etiquette. I have a 05 Dakota with the 4.7 116k miles. I have read many posts and watched videos but have not seen any with this specific issue. The truck runs fine from initial cold startup and warming up. Once the truck is at operating temperature and turn off for a while (maybe 15 - 20 minutes) and restarted is when the problem occurs. Idle gets rough, the engine tries to stall and recovers but I will get a flashing check engine light for 10 - 15 seconds and goes out or a solid check engine light. The only code it ever throws is the P0300. I have looked at the live data which seems OK based on what I find on the Internet. I replaced the plugs (OEM Champion from NGK a year ago or so), the throttle position sensor and air flow sensor. Cleaned the idle air control valve and throttle body. Not getting any specific cylinder misfiles so I am assuming (I know) the coil packs are OK. Initially, I got a Bank 2/1 O2 Sensor code, replaced it and immediately got a Bank 2/2 O2 sensor code and replaced it. Thought the catalytic converter initially but the more I read online moved past that??? I found a list of possible sensors to replace but hate to start down that road. Next on the list were the crank and cam position sensors. Thought I would give the forum a chance first. Let me know if you have any questions. Thanks

OC455

Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
2018, 2019
Engine
5.7 Hemi Big Horn, 6.4L Hemi 3500 Longhorn Mega cab