2005 1500 5.7L with a P0420 Code... lil help?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

coastemac

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Hey everyone, brand new here... diggin' the site though.

Just came home from a light trip off-road and now have a Check Engine Light on. Had a code reader on it and it shows P0420. Catalyst System Efficiency Below Threshold, Bank 1.

Now I'm no mechanic, but I'm willing to try to fix something myself. This truck has 70+k on it, and has been running fine up until recently. I've been noticing my mileage decreasing (not that the Hemi doesn't drink enough of the go-go juice on its own...) and I believe its lost some power too. In my neck of the woods, Alaska, there really isn't much here to help me... the few places that are here want to **** you with their prices. We have an Auto Parts store in town that doesn't even have a code reader if that tells you anything...

Anyway, thinking that I should replace the O2 sensors first, and go from there... but I'd love to have some advice from those of you that have "been there and done that."

Please help a new guy out a little... beers are on me if you do.
Thanks in advance everyone !!!

HemiBabe

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi
Welcome to the site....

Did some research on the web and this is what I found....

These are the only items that will give the code 99.9% of the time.
1. a bad Cat. Convertor
2. a bad downstream O2 sensor ( the one after the cat)
3. damaged wiring to the downstream O2 sensor

OP
OP
C

coastemac

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Thanks for the info HemiBabe... I'm thinking replacing the Rear O2 would be the most logical first step, and probably the cheapest as well.