2014 Ram Big Horn 4x4 towing a travel trailer *Newbie Here*

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

MrKoolics

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 Liter Hemi
Hey guys,

I'm a newbie to the forums but I'm really looking for experience subject matter experts to possibly give me some peace of mind or feedback.

I have a 2014 Ram Big Horn 4x4 5.7 Hemi. My travel trailer camper is a 29 foot Heartland Pioneer, guessing the dry weight is around 6175 lbs. Typically it is just my wife and I camping but so we're loading food up for 2 for about short trips. I'd really like to start traveling further distances with the camper but on our short trips I've noticed the truck doesn't really have the acceleration I'm used to when entering a freeway. Now I know I can't accelerate like when I'm not pulling anything at all but even still it seems the acceleration isn't really there. And if it is going up here I feel it even worse.

Some additional towing information is that I do not have the water tank full. That is empty, the Black and Grey tanks are always emptied after a camping trip. At the beginning of the trip the food for the week is inside the camper. I take some bundles of firewood and camping chairs in the bed of the truck. Clothing and such is also stored in the camper.

My questions here are could I be towing too much for the truck? Am I just babying the truck because I love the thing and don't want to cause any damage? I believe the truck is rated to tow 7200 or 7300 lbs.
When towing if I give the truck some serious gas the RPM's obvious go up also. How high can the RPM's get before I should lay off a bit? What temps should the oil and Transmission gauges read?