Automatic Brake Engaging on Reverse

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

IceyTys

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7L Hemi etorque
Anyone had an issue with the automatic brake engaging when going into reverse? I am new to this 2020 Ram, but when I hooked up my boat last week several times the automatic braking system would engage whil I was trying to back up my boat. Its quite annoying. Is there a setting or something I need to turn off so it wont do this? I'd hate to be heading down the boat ramp this summer and my brakes keep locking up on the way down.

TIA.

ibike

Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
New to my 2020 ram too. Did you have your seatbelt on? I think it requires you to wear it when you put it in gear. Shame on you if you didn’t have it buckled

Dean2

Reaction score
Ram Year
2021 2500
Engine
Turn your rear park sensors off, it will backup fine after that.

OP
OP
I

IceyTys

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7L Hemi etorque
Thanks, Ill give it a try.....assume thats a setting in the UConnect system yes? Assume Ill have to turn them back on when done, or is that a tow setting? Ill take a look around in Uconnect later this week. Thanks much

crash68

ACME product engineer
Staff member
Administrator
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
3.0 EcoDiesel
assume thats a setting in the UConnect system yes? Assume Ill have to turn them back on when done, or is that a tow setting?
There's a physical button below the radio to turn the park sensors off.
If the trailer has electric brakes and the truck has the OEM trailer brake controller should turn the reverse sensors off automatically when the trailer is plugged in.

OP
OP
I

IceyTys

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7L Hemi etorque