DIY Flagpole and Flagpole Mount | No Drilling | Truck Bed

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Chainsaw_Monday

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
3.6L
Hello!

After reviewing other posts / ideas of how people were mounting flagpoles, I came up with what worked for me. I'll include as much info as I can regarding parts and work required. I am by no means an engineer of any sort, but I enjoyed problem solving and coming up with what I think is a great solution. Feel free to ask any questions or provide feedback if you have any!

Materials List
----------------

Flag Pole Mount:
2" PVC (White)
1/2" Drill Bit
Heavy Duty Zipties (200lb Tensile Strength)
Felt Tape

Flag Pole:
1" PVC (Dark Grey, for the actual flag pole)
1/2" Drill Bit
5/16" x 3-1/4" Eye Bolt (two)
5/16" x 2-3/8" Interlocking Spring Snap (two)
13mm wrench (to tighten nut onto eye bolt)
Loctite
Sharpie

I started with the flag pole mount. There were two main challenges I wanted to overcome. The first being I didn't want to drill any holes into the truck. The second being, I wanted to retain the functionality of my tonneau cover without having to remove the mount.

I determined I'd use the location near the tailgate, where there is already a lower mounting point (loop) incorporated into the bed, and would use nearby existing holes in the wall of the truck bed for the upper mounting point. In the two images below, you can see where the black zipties utilize these points. In order to run these through the 2" PVC, I used a 1/2" drill bit and eye balled two holes for the lower mounting point, as well as two holes for the upper mounting point. The lower point and upper point are offset from each other, so just eyeball and mark with a Sharpie where you plan on drilling these holes in the PVC.