Intermittent Slight “hop” at 72mph.

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Rileymk

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Cummins 6.7
Hey, I’m new to the diesel world and also anything bigger than a 1500. I bought 2021 ram 3500 with 80k miles. I test drove it around the block but wasn’t able to get on the highway. It was one of the smoothest riding trucks I’ve driven, until… I drove home with it & brought it to 72mph and it drove smooth until it randomly started a very very slight hop but it’s noticeable enough to raise a brow and sip a coffee.. for a long road trip, it would get annoying. I gassed it from 72-80 and it went away immediately. I brought the speed back to 72 and there were no hops until the road got a little rough, then it started again. No shaking or wobble, just a hop that’s felt through the seats & console.Tire pressure is good. It’s intermittent but only at 72mph. There’s only a half tank gas, nothing in the 8ft bed and I wasn’t towing anything. Could it be a hop because the truck was so light?

Thanks!

Dean2

Reaction score
Ram Year
2021 2500
Engine
Agree. Cheapest option, don't drive at 72 mph, go below or above. However, hop, shake etc. at one specific speed is almost always tire balance or tire construction related. Cheapest place to start is to balance and rotate. I run my 2500 at 50 front 45 back empty, usingOEM size tires. Makes a big difference in ride and handling.

If you have any uneven wear or a pull you may want to get it aligned, but suggest you use the Thuren alignment specs. They work very well on HD Rams.

Last edited:

crash68

ACME product engineer
Staff member
Administrator
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
3.0 EcoDiesel