Is anyone else having these paint/clearcoat issues?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Daman

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
May not be the answer for everyone but.Had two Rams so one had to sit outside in driveway. After a few years the clear coat started peeling off. Took a couple years to figure out that a few hours a day the reflection of sun off the huge window over the garage with low e glass reflected perfectly on hood.Being a contractor I knew why? I was called out to a deck job where I laid down Azek decking replacing original p.t and a year later customer complained decking in front of their sliding glass door looked like it was melting. It was the sun reflecting off the door causing it to droop like a noodle. Acts like a magnifying glass.Cure was to lay down a matt.

Last edited:

Power Wagon Chief

Reaction score
Ram Year
2021 Power Wagon
Engine
I put PPF (Weather Tech purchase) on my 21 PW door sills. When I had a professional do detailing, he removed to install a bigger strip and to his and my surprise it pulled the paint up down to the metal (not the primer the metal). Luckily my dealer covered it under warrantee.

nlambert182

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.7 Cummins
Have you ever had it buffed to shine or apply coatings? I’m not a fan. I think it trades shine for weakened paint integrity and makes it susceptible to this kind of break down. Good waxes applied by hand are the best defense against this.