Mopar Backup Camera Troubleshooting

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Ken Dillinger

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
I installed the Mopar OEM backup camera kit last week. First of all, let me say that the post in this group was a major help, reading it before hand made the install a breeze. I knew before hand that the connector drawings were from the wire side of the connector, not the interface side. But being a controls engineer, I knew to go by the pin number regardless of what the drawing looked like, always KNOW the pin position, never assume. With that said, the install was fairly straight forward. I only had the unlock wires to the tailgate which was expected, so I did have to run all of the harnesses. For the power, I was able to to get the 12v wire out of the distribution box easily and only had to remove some insulation, solder in the splice, slide the heat shrink on and re-install (ground was a no-brainer). Same for the purple bus wire, I was able to get the wire removed from the C5 BCM connector, remove some insulation, solder in the splice, slide over the heat shrink and reinstall. I did not have any wires in the back of the radio connector so installing the 3 camera wires in to the radio connector was no problem. On the intermediate connector from the body harness to the radio harness, all wire colors line up (for wires that exist on both sides of the connector). I have the 8.4 with nav, I verified I have the most current software in the radio, then took the truck to my dealer for XAC code addition. Twenty minutes later, I have a full functioning back up camera with guidelines that move with the steering wheel. The truck sat for a few days (working from home) then needed to make a grocery run and only get the blue screen, camera system not available message. Go out the next morning to check, it is working a