Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

BenchTest

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Greetings Folks,

Like many others here, I've found this forum in search of others having similar experiences/issues and hopefully, ultimately, resolutions. I've owned my truck for about 16 months now. I purchased it used at about 43k miles. I now have 65k +/- miles. Here's what I can share so far:

Engine oil filter housing/cooler adapter - like millions of others, mine leaked. I opted to go with the Dorman Solutions fix. My thoughts on it were pretty simple - Mopar hasn't gotten it right in numerous attempts at revising the design, so I'm not going OEM. As a little background on my Pentastar experience, my former employer ran 70+ 3.6 Pentastars in various vehicles as part of their service fleet. I was a Regional Manager and dealt with quite a few of the regular failing items on these vehicles (filter housing being one). The replacement was pretty straight forward, albeit a bit aggravating having to do that on such a low mileage engine. No need to go into replacement details as that's been covered ad nauseam. I have about 12k miles on my replacement, operating in long duration road trips in various temps, with no issues to report. I feel the Dorman fix was the right decision. At this service, I replaced the thermostat/housing combination, radiator cap, and antifreeze following standard procedures for such. It was accessible during the housing swap and I'd rather do it sooner than later and while it's accessible.