Picking up a 2015 Ram 3500 SRW with an Aisin

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

nlambert182

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.7 Cummins
Thoughts?

2015 Ram 3500 SRW
Aisin transmission
110k miles

The truck is super clean and has all of the service records since new. I'm well versed in the 6.7 Cummins with the 68RFE behind it but I have no experience with the Aisin. This is my 4th 4th gen Ram so I am well versed with those as well. Is there anything that I need to check with the Aisin? Any quirks, etc?

This combination around my area is pretty rare so I jumped at the opportunity. I stuck a deposit down this morning and will drive over to GA on Friday to pick it up (assuming it's what they say it is).

I'd appreciate any thoughts and feedback.

Bike_Pilot

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.7 Cummins
Congrats! I love my '18 HO. The Aisin is great imo. If you've ever driven a medium duty truck with an automatic it's a bit like that. Shifts are a bit slow but in gear it stays locked up and feels really solid. They manage heat well and tend to stay cool no matter what.

18CrewDually

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Cummins 6.7 H.O.
I don't have anything to really add but I agree with the others. I love the H.O. combo. Definitely do the filter and fluid change when you get it. I also use the Mobil 3309 ordered off of Amazon.
Some complain about the shifting but it is basically a commercial grade commercial truck trans and should be expected . I prefer the positive lockup over the slipping buttery smooth.

OP
OP
nlambert182

nlambert182

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.7 Cummins
So I did go look at and drive the truck.... Sadly, things were not as they seemed in the pictures which is typically the case. The truck was a fantastic 20 footer. I found quite a few issues when I actually got there.