Running wires through the firewall

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

ramhacker

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
3.6L V6
I'm planning to install a VHF ham radio in my 2017 RAM 1500 SLT (yes, I have a license). The radio is capable of putting out 50 watts of power, which means that I am going to have to wire it to the battery directly, I cannot use the cigarette lighter outlets because it will blow the fuse.

I have no past experience running wires through firewall but I saw this up under the driver side pedal area:
driver_firewall.jpg

And under the hood it looks like:

driver_firewall_ext.jpg

Can I just unbolt this thing and run wires through there??? I'm not sure what else it's for but it almost looks like it's made for this.

If the answer is no, then could you please suggest another area? My battery is on the driver side pretty close to there. Any other advice for running these cables or for the antenna cable, which I'm going to have to mount as well?

89grand

Reaction score
Ram Year
2019 RCSB
Engine
5.7 Hemi
That's exactly the spot I was going to use. I'm going to run a grommet in there, then run a 8, 12 and 18 gauge wire through it.

Hemi395

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 Hemi
I ran my OEM backup camera wires thru there as well as my amp power wire thru there. Great place to pass wires thru!

SitKneelBend

Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
3.6 Pentastar
I drilled out the circular center of that piece and inserted a rubber grommet.

Sent from my HTC U11 using Tapatalk

shadowhawk

Reaction score
Ram Year
Black metallic 2016 Sport- born 05/2016
Engine
hemi 5.7 with I2 tune