Tach goofy, MDS fooling around, or is tranny slipping?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Vehicle: 2007 5.7 Hemi with MDS, 545RFE transmission.
My tach indicates quite a variety of RPMs at a steady 60 mph (5th gear as far as I can tell). I will notice it showing about 2100 at times, and at other times it may be 1900 or even 1750. I've never felt or heard any change in engine speed , but with road noise it would be difficult to detect anyway. There doesn't seem to be any correlation to hills; I'm talking level highway conditions.
Is it possible this is the MDS kicking on and off? Some posters talk as if they know when it's active or not active; how can you tell? I'm fairly new to this truck, but I've not noticed a change in sound or by seat of the pants that would tell me it's on or off.
I assume the 545 has variable line pressure- can that cause the clutch to slip a little at times?

Karlsweg

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 hemi
Mds probably but to find out put it in tow/haul and see if rpm changes. At 60 mph, my 07 seems to search for overdrive easily.

hemihustlin

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 HEMI
Once you reach top gear the first rpm reduction is torque converter lock up then after that its mds engaging.

If you roll down all your windows and go cruising around town you are able to hear the mds engage. With a stock exhaust it will sort of sound like a soft helicopter sound pop-pop-pop-pop

Once you remove the stock mufflers I say it sounds like an underwater subaru, it warbles and drones. Thats when most people look to turn it off.

OP
OP
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
I tried locking it into tow/haul.