Tow Package

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

CARNEYM

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi
I just purchased a new Ram 2013 Bighorn. Now part of the Big Horn package is you get class IV receiver, Hemi and I also got the 8 speed trans with 355 rear end gears. My question is, I see a lot of folks refer to Towing Package. I have looked allover the Ram web site and cannot find a Package labeled Towing.

Thanks Mickey

JohnnyDollar

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7L Hemi
I am no expert, but I read someone post that there is no "Tow Package"
at least not anymore. Perhaps there used to be.

I have a 2012 Lone Star edition, which is the Texas version of the Big Horn.
Sounds like I have the same setup as you do, and like you, I have not found a "Tow Package" listed as an option.
The 2012 specification sheet shows towing components as options: i.e. 4 & 7 pin trailer connectors, Class IV hitch

I do not have the trailer brake controller.

OP
OP
C

CARNEYM

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi
Thanks, Thought I was missing something. Yea i love the truck, getting around 19 combine and not babying it. I am planning on getting a toy hauler in the future. Trying to decide what my truck is capable of towing. It looks like with the right hitch, bags etc. that 7000 max with 700 to 800 lbs of hitch weight.

Thanks.

WhiteExpress

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 Hemi
There is no specific 'tow package' like on the F-150 "Max Tow" package.

Having a tow package on a Ram means you have a hitch. I believe ALL Rams come with the bumper hitch and wiring, the tow package just means you have a receiver hitch below it.

Designflaw

Reaction score
Ram Year
2013 CC Sport 4x4
Engine
Hemi 5.7
IF I understand correctly for the 4th Gen, the Tow Package is the hitch, both round and flat plugs, brakes, and tow mirrors.

Guts~n~Glory

Reaction score
Ram Year