What is this sound?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

AustinH

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Hey guys, I have a 2017 Ram 1500 5.7 and I am trying to figure out what this noise is. Seems to be the loudest while cold and definitely louder while in drive or reverse. Almost goes away when on park or neutral. Doesn't completely go away at operating temperature. I had a shop have a listen 6 months ago and he told me it was piston slap and nothing to worry about. Doesn't really sound like the lifter issue or an exhaust leak to me, but I'm no expert. Sounds to me like it is coming from the flex plate area. Any help would be appreciated. See link below

OP
OP
A

AustinH

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Just removed heat shields and checked all bolts. All are good. I have 136k miles on the truck and use 5w 20 full synthetic. I also tried that Lucas oil additive, almost seems to have made it a bit louder. When I'm under the truck with it running seems like it comes from the flex plate area. Doesn't really sound like the lifter noise to me but I could be wrong.

indept

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7L
What brand of oil? Our hemi's like Moly (Molybdenum) which some oils lack sufficient amount of. Pennzoil, Quakerstate, Redline are a few popular brands with moly.
Here's a thread that addresses oil issues.

RamDiver

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Just removed heat shields and checked all bolts. All are good. I have 136k miles on the truck and use 5w 20 full synthetic. I also tried that Lucas oil additive, almost seems to have made it a bit louder. When I'm under the truck with it running seems like it comes from the flex plate area. Doesn't really sound like the lifter noise to me but I could be wrong.

Many users have had good results using Lube/Gard Bio Tech Engine Protectant.