What truck do I have?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Sauce09

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7L
Alright I'm prepared to get laughed at on here. My question is how the hell do I find out which truck I have? This is my first of what I think to be MANY Dodge trucks.
I was trying to get a part from Autozone, and they have 2 different engines for my truck. I own an 08 Ram 1500 4 door Lone Star Edition with a Hemi 5.7L rear drive only. Autozone shows 8 CYL 2 5.7L SFI or 8 CYL D 5.7L. So what is the difference? How can I tell? Is it in the VIN number?

Also what is the difference in SLT SXT and all that and which do I have?

I know these are probably stupid questions, but I'm new to Rams. Well... new to trucks period. I've only owned cars and motorcycles before.

BlackedOutHemi

Reaction score
Ram Year
2012 & 2012
Engine
5.7L HEMI & 6.7L Cummins
Alright I'm prepared to get laughed at on here. My question is how the hell do I find out which truck I have? This is my first of what I think to be MANY Dodge trucks.
I was trying to get a part from Autozone, and they have 2 different engines for my truck. I own an 08 Ram 1500 4 door Lone Star Edition with a Hemi 5.7L rear drive only. Autozone shows 8 CYL 2 5.7L SFI or 8 CYL D 5.7L. So what is the difference? How can I tell? Is it in the VIN number?

Also what is the difference in SLT SXT and all that and which do I have?

I know these are probably stupid questions, but I'm new to Rams. Well... new to trucks period. I've only owned cars and motorcycles before.

As for your first question. Weather you have a 2 or a D (it really doesn't matter) is in your vin number. I don't remember which one exactly. For some reason wanna say the eighth digit.

SXT is the base model version of the rams. SLT is one class up. If you own the Lonestar it's the SLT Lonestar edition.

SmokedRam