Whine when shifted into gear

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

99redrunner

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.2L V8
So im new to the Ram family... Used to BMWs and Jeeps... Just bought a 99 ram 1500 4x4 pickup....
I was told the shift cable from the column was loose, no biggie felt with similar before planned to drive to the weekend to fix... Well hit a bump and it jumped to neutral and went back into drive after pulling to the side to reengage the gear. Figured ill mess with it after work tomorrow. Well 10 min later I press the gas (not even full throttle) to quickly cross over a busy road and truck did just fine but then on the other side I got a quick succession of rpm changes, what felt like 2-3 gear shifts, then a steady loud whining noise. Truck still drove and responded, though sluggishly, to accelerator pressure. Pulled over shifted to neutral and the sound stopped. Back to drive whine was there again. Park and shut off engine for 2-3 min then restart. No noise, until I shifted to drive or reverse.
Took it very easy to drive home (about 6 miles) except for 2 tests of lots of throttle, oddly enough the whine went away during rapid acceleration and the truck felt like it had full power. But the noise came back after releasing from firm pressure on accelerator. Sound does get louder with light touch on gas pedal.