2001 dodge ram 1500 5.9l- slight misfire

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

ramlife59

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
v8 5.9L
about 2 months ago i started noticing a slight jerk/buck while i was driving my truck. since i first noticed the issue occurring, it has very rarely happened since. it only ever happens when im driving on the highway and its really only when im cruising. im not accelerating, going up hill, or anything like that.... just cruising. i did an DYI stress test on the engine to see if it was maybe a spark plug (i am not a mechanic, dont claim to be... just find out how to fix things on my own) but the engine seems to be running strong with no jerks or anything. it wasnt until recently that i went to start my truck up one morning and it started up rough.... which it has never done before. but it ran fine after that. dont know if that has anything to do with my original problem. im not getting any kind of CEL pop up either. anybody got any advice?

19Ram150098

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
The Jerking/Bucking could be a sign of the torque converter failing to lock up.. just a thought..

OP
OP
R

ramlife59

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
v8 5.9L
Thanks haven’t had that mentioned to me so I will look into that

SportRam00

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Magnum 360
Check your TPS! I had a similar issue where the truck would be cruising and the rpms would jump 100-200 above my cruising speed at random. TPS fixed the problem and a a fairly common item to replace.

OP
OP
R

ramlife59

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
v8 5.9L
Thanks for the input sportsram00, I will do some research on it.