2011 Ram 1500 - Loud constant noise

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Dylan V

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hey guys, I'm new here and new to owning my Ram 1500.

After driving it for a week or so, out of nowhere when I start the truck (5.7 hemi), idle it, and slow down to a stop; the truck makes a LOUD and constant, almost droning "whooshing" sound that is really loud from the engine bay and interior. It happens with the cabin fans are on & off (thought it might've just been the interior van but its WAY louder and def. sounds like an issue).

It all started one night when I got home from work as I came to a stop in the driveway. The noise even changes with revving and goes away when the truck is shut off. I changed the belt and a couple pulleys, and no luck. I am starting to get worried it's the transmission ALREADY but I'm no mechanic.

Anyone got any ideas or experience with this??

-Thank you!

Brandon-w

Reaction score
Ram Year
2015 Ram 1500
Engine
Is It your radiator fan?

Sent from my SM-G981W using Tapatalk

OP
OP
D

Dylan V

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Is It your radiator fan?

Sent from my SM-G981W using Tapatalk

Can't be. I've been driving it for over a week now, the fan has been on for sure and this noise never happened until Tuesday. This "whooshing" noise almost sounds like water going through pipes, but it's constant and barley goes away while driving. It's super loud in the engine bay, but also in the interior. I can try to add a video of it this weekend, to this post....

Blackdodge2010

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 Hemi
If your coolant system has air in it then you would hear it 'gurgling' when coming to a stop or idling. A video of the sound would help a lot.

GTyankee

Supporting Member
Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
3.0 ecodiesel