Cutting Springs for Dummies - Need a little "How To" please :)

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

DavidRam

Reaction score
Ram Year
2012 RCSB
Engine
Hemi 5.7
So I just ordered QA1 shocks and with those going in, I want to drop the rear of my truck about 3/4". The rear is just over an 1" higher than the front. I love how the front sits, but the rear has a little to much gap.
Plus, when I do the custom roll pan mod, I will be taking about 180 lbs off of the rear, which might raise it a bit more...

(Honestly, I wish someone made 5" drop springs so I could just buy them.)

Anyways, I have never done anything like this before... but I think it's time that I learned!

How do I determine how much to cut off to get the 3/4"??

What should I use to cut them??

What kind of tools will I need to take the rear springs out, cut em and put em back in??

Anything I should watch out for??

Thanks guys!:favorites13:

Attachments

• CuttingSpringsForDummies.jpg
    CuttingSpringsForDummies.jpg
    35 KB · Views: 63
Last edited:

BlkRamRt

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
HEMI 5.7
one coil off the rear is +/- an inch. to remove the rear springs you will need floor jack and a couple of jack stands. to cut them a grinder but be careful not to cause alot of heat. also you will need wrenches ans sockets.

BlkRamRt

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
HEMI 5.7
another thing if you dont have the jackstands and floor jack PM me and i can loan you mine free of charge...lol :favorites13:

TylerB

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Need a jack, a pair of jack stands and the necessary wrenches/sockets(13/16" ) to remove lower shock bolts, will need to remove link bars from sway bar as well(I'm not sure of size for the Hellwig), an angle grinder and a thin metal cutoff wheel.