Power Prob 3

Discussion in 'Garage' started by R/T_Fire, Feb 12, 2018.

  1. R/T_Fire

    R/T_Fire Senior Member

    Age:
    37
    Posts:
    3,417
    Likes Received:
    1,177
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Location:
    Pleasant Grove
    Ram Year:
    2011
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    Does anyone else have this tool? any issues or things not to do with it?
     
  2. Craw

    Craw Senior Member

    Posts:
    408
    Likes Received:
    126
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2017
    Location:
    Western, Idaho
    Ram Year:
    2013 Sport
    Engine:
    HEMI 5.7
    S0CAL likes this.
  3. 67shawnw

    67shawnw Junior Member

    Age:
    40
    Posts:
    17
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2018
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ram Year:
    2017 2500
    Engine:
    6.4
    I run a class 8 truck garage and about half of the techs use these. I use mine all the time. you have a power button ground button, and a spare ground wire off of unit. It also shows voltage. There is a internal breaker in it so you don't melt wires. If you do a lot of electrical work it is a must have.
     
  4. S0CAL

    S0CAL Supporting Member Veteran US Marines

    Posts:
    2,376
    Likes Received:
    1,993
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Location:
    The Lonestar State
    Ram Year:
    2010
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    holy shit that is a cool tool. I was contemplating buying a 12V DC bench power supply. Not anymore!
     
  5. 67shawnw

    67shawnw Junior Member

    Age:
    40
    Posts:
    17
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2018
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ram Year:
    2017 2500
    Engine:
    6.4
    It also shows voltage. It make two different noises one for power and one for ground.
     
  6. Rupert

    Rupert Senior Member

    Age:
    54
    Posts:
    281
    Likes Received:
    85
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Location:
    Annapolis, Md
    Ram Year:
    2014 big horn
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    I bought it with some extra probes and tips. I used it to trouble shoot my old EXPLODER ford power windows and test after installing new regulator. Much easier than clipping wire to the car battery or a spare battery on the floor. I could use the power cycle button to make the windows go up and down...before I put the door panels and wiring back together. I have not used it for awhile, as I simply have not had any DC problems.
    Defiantly would buy again.
     
  7. WilliamS

    WilliamS Senior Member

    Age:
    36
    Posts:
    1,797
    Likes Received:
    580
    Joined:
    May 3, 2016
    Location:
    Tampa FL
    Ram Year:
    2014
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    I dont have one but seen them in action in our shop. Really helps to narrow ground or power issues all over the car. Plug onto the battery and test the affected circuit at its base, it will show you real dang quick if there is a voltage drop or bad fuse, or crossed wire. Id recommend it if you are constantly chasing gremlins.
     
  8. R/T_Fire

    R/T_Fire Senior Member

    Age:
    37
    Posts:
    3,417
    Likes Received:
    1,177
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Location:
    Pleasant Grove
    Ram Year:
    2011
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    I finally bought one a little while ago and have used it extensively, I am still learning how to use all its features but would highly suggest buying one... Came in very handy cleaning up and making a new wire harness for the emergency system side of of pick up that I added a bunch of stuff to. Worth the money, but I wish I got the power probe 4 instead
     
  9. ram lady

    ram lady Senior Member

    Age:
    39
    Posts:
    178
    Likes Received:
    60
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2016
    Ram Year:
    2012 Ram 2500
    Engine:
    5.7 hemi
    Don't use it on certain circuits,will smoke up to 4 computers.One of my co workers did this.Used it on a circuit he was not supposed to use it on and smoked a computer up
     

Share This Page