Side view mirror glass

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Hookedup87

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Hey guys. Have a 2018 Ram 1500 Big Horn 5.7 Hemi Quab Cab 4x4. After detailing it once this long terrible winter finally ended, I noticed a hairline crack in my passenger side side view mirror. I have heated, power folding, non tow mirrors. I thought it could have been the result of using the heated glass ALOT this winter to melt ice on the mirrors, similar thing happened to a 2017 Freightliner I drive for a living, so I brought it to the dealer. Of course they are saying it’s not covered even though the truck only has 28k on it because they feel it was the result of what they are referring to as “an outside influence.” I even called Ram Cares and they are sticking with that story. Just for giggles and ***** I asked them what do they mean by “an outside influence.” They couldn’t even answer me, just to repeat that the dealer states it was the result of “an outside influence.”

Anyway, to make a long story short, they are not covering it, so I gotta fix it myself. Has anybody ever changed out the mirror glass before and could lend some insight as to what I’m in for? Dealer quoted me $300 for just the part. That’s OEM with heat, tint and self dimming. I found a site 1aauto that has the mirror for under $100, but it’s just the mirror. Think it’s heated, but not tinted and definitely not auto dimming. Still on the fence about which route to go, although I’m sure it will be OEM because I really love this truck and don’t want to have mismatched side view mirrors, but any input as to how to actually swap it out would be greatly appreciated.

rixter99

Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
2014 3500 SRW
Engine
Cummins i6.7