Timing change question

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Sirriggs

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Since my 99 Dodge ram is torn down. I am thinking about also doing the timing chain and gaskets. Since this is one thing that I have never done before so I am really doing some reading and you tube research before I make any attempt. The 5.2 motor has around 168,000 miles on it so I'm sure its due to be changed.

Is this task hard or pretty simple job? I have everything off the motor at this point so that is why I'm thinking of doing it now. Water pump was rusted from sitting so I will be replacing that as well. I know I have to get a puller for the job and that is fine.

Just trying to get some ideas of what to maybe look for or expect. I would like to do whats needed to avoid any gremlins when back together.lol

Bear_Gibson

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.9 magnum
I did cylinder heads and timing chain years ago. It was an all day project. I will say I have the 5.9, but they're essentially the same. Loosen the front oil pan bolts to remove the lower section of the timing cover. Use permatex rtv called "the right stuff" to seal things. Remove fan and fan shroud and you can stand inside the engine bay to do the work. Ac compressor need not be disconnected from the hoses. Just lay it outta the way. You need a harmonic balancer puller. A small gear puller would also be handy incase the crank sprocket is stubborn. Here's an idea, since you have to drain the coolant, I use a shop vac to suck out the coolant. Starting at the top radiator hose and radiator. Just shove the hose inside the radiator hose. Timing the engine is easy. I may have to remove my timing cover this weekend as well. I gotta do the plenum repair, and something up there is leaking coolant.

Sent from my E6910 using Tapatalk

Bear_Gibson

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine