Unsure of tow capacity....

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Jbgarrison6

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.4 Hemi
Newbie here. I have a 2017 Ram 2500 6.4 Hemi, 3.73 gears sb, and have towed a 30' tt for the past 5 years. Been very happy with the performance overall, as this is my first Ram I've ever owned. Has pulled this camper very well. Well, we are a family of 6, and we have out grown the camper. So, we have decided to upgrade to a 5'er. I went to the Ram towing guide for my year, and said my set up is rated to pull 12,600. Now, I know that number isn't accurate based on the payload. I calculated it myself by taking the GVWR subtracted from GCWR and came up with 9,800 tow capacity. The 5'er we are looking at weighs 10,600 dry, 13600 GVRW. I know we won't come close to the max cargo capacity for both the camper and the truck, which gives a cushion. I really don't won't to have to pull the trigger on a new truck as I just paid this off back in Feb. So, any thoughts on being able to pull this safely?

Riccochet

Reaction score
Ram Year
2020 2500 Laramie Longhorn
Engine
12,600 sounds right for towing capacity. Your issue is going to be payload. You probably have around 3000 lbs of payload, give or take a 1000, which is average for a 2500 6.4. Figure 200 lbs for a hitch, plus you and any other persons and cargo in the truck. That's going to limit you to something with around 2000 lbs of pin weight max. And don't go by advertised pin weight, those are dry numbers that don't include propane, batteries or anything you put in the 5th wheel. Not sure your going to find a 5ver that will sleep 6 that you could tow with a 2500.

Tulecreeper

Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.4 Hemi
Need to know the cab and bed you have.

Jane S

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
What does the sticker on the door frame say?

Riccochet

Reaction score