Remote Start troubles

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

1SilverBullet2

Reaction score
Ram Year
2014 Big Horn 8 speed
Engine
5.7 Hemi
I have a Compustar remote start on my truck, I've had it since I bought the truck nearly a year ago and it hasn't given any problems. Recently now within the last week and a half I couldn't get the remote start option to go. I had to walk up to my truck and try it and it would lock my truck and the radio would power up but the truck would never start. I just replaced the batteries in the fob today and it's the same story. I haven't been underneath it yet to see if something is bad. Has anyone else had issues like this before? It's my first remote start vehicle so I have no experience with them before.

nateinva

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Ram Year
2011 1500 Laramie CC
Engine
5.7L
I have a Compustar remote start on my truck, I've had it since I bought the truck nearly a year ago and it hasn't given any problems. Recently now within the last week and a half I couldn't get the remote start option to go. I had to walk up to my truck and try it and it would lock my truck and the radio would power up but the truck would never start. I just replaced the batteries in the fob today and it's the same story. I haven't been underneath it yet to see if something is bad. Has anyone else had issues like this before? It's my first remote start vehicle so I have no experience with them before.

It may be a shot in the dark but check fuses for the remote start module and wiring under the dash. I had a viper system on my 04 Dakota with remote start that suddenly stopped working after a few years of reliability. It took 2 hours of shop time to finally find a blown fuse.

Does the system have a hood sensor? I'd check that too to make sure it doesn't think the hood is open when it's not. Good luck!

OP
OP