How much oil does your hemi burn?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Hemi5speed

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 Hemi
I burn about 3 quarts every 3000 miles. With a new pcv valve and no trace of blue smoke should I assume this is normal oil consumption?

Harley Harrold

USAF Ret. 36+ years service
Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7L HEMI
My HEMI uses about one quart of oil in 5,000 miles, even less if most of the 5K are Interstate driven.

Tolson93

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
I'm around 3-4 quarts every oil change. seems like I smell something that resembles burning oil. People say they have seen a little smoke when I've drove off before.. Saw one blue cloud once when I floored it once. Don't know what to say but from everything I've read , seems older trucks may burn some. Seems common for a quart or two but I'm no expert.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

RedRamHemi

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
If I remember right, Dodge states that 1qt per 1000 miles is normal. As for my truck, I've put almost 3000 miles on it and hasn't burned a drop. My Buick Lucerne burns about 1qt to every 1000 and Buick says thats normal and acceptable consumption.

OP
OP
Hemi5speed

Hemi5speed

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 Hemi
If I remember right, Dodge states that 1qt per 1000 miles is normal. As for my truck, I've put almost 3000 miles on it and hasn't burned a drop. My Buick Lucerne burns about 1qt to every 1000 and Buick says thats normal and acceptable consumption.

Any chance you can tell me where you found that info? And thank you

Ramunit

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
I burn ZERO, 7qts out, 7qts in every 5k

05daytona

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
I don't burn any oil either.

Tolson93

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7