13 Ram 1500/5.7/4wd Cam Questions

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Trevor13Ram1500

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
*Brand new to forum as of about 10 min ago*
I have a 2013 Ram 1500 Sport, 5.7, 6 speed auto, 3.55 in the rear.

So I’ve been saving up for a few months for a HPT/HPT+ Cam, I contacted Moes the other day and he was extremely helpful but I couldn’t quite remember what he said about the cam effecting the way the 4wd will operate... now I know I gotta get the higher dif ratio in the rear and the proper TQ converter to really get the full effect... but that’s gonna come soon after.

So the real question I have is if anyone on here has had experience with a 6 speed 4wd and the HPT+ cam (the one I really want to pull the trigger on) or will I just have to go with the milder HPT to not break the bank upgrading the 4wd...

I’m currently Stationed at Camp Lejeune NC, and whenever I get the chance to go on leave I drive 650 miles to Youngstown Ohio, so that’s something I gotta take into consideration, definitely a heavily performance minded daily driver is what I’m going for

Current mods are as follows... K&N intake, 180 t-stat, 87mm Ported T-Body, JBA Longtubes, custom exhaust (True Dual-other than x-crossover), Cat removed, stock muffler removed (replaced with 2 smaller flowmaster series 10’s one on each pipe), and lastly Hemifever 93 oct custom tune

crackerjack1957

Reaction score
Ram Year
2014 Sport 1500 CC 4x4
Engine
Hemi 5.7...65RFE...4.56
Last edited:

Michael

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Regearing a 4wd ram isn’t easy. You have to regear the front and rear, but to do the front you’ll have to change the front differential from what I’ve read on the forums.

crackerjack1957

Reaction score
Ram Year
2014 Sport 1500 CC 4x4
Engine
Hemi 5.7...65RFE...4.56