2011 6.7 Low oil pressure, low coolant, and over full on dipstick

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

BigBlue67

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.7 Cummins
Hello all, my 2011 Ram 3500 recently dropped oil pressure. Not completely, but from its usual 40-45 psi to 26 psi. Thinking it's low on oil, from a leak, I checked it and t my surprise it's more full. The consistency and color were different than usual too. It wasn't oily like oil, and wasn't black, rather almost clear. I do my own services and work as I am a semi diesel mechanic (big trucks). I also noticed the coolant was way lower in the reservoir than normal. Could this be a oil cooler issue, head gasket, or something to do with the turbo? Engine wise is stock, and 212k miles

diymirage

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Sounds like coolant made it into the oil, the most likely culprit is a blown headgasket...or a cracked block

Does it smoke more then usual ?

OP
OP
B

BigBlue67

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.7 Cummins
That's what I'm thinking too, hopefully it'd just be a head gasket. Doesn't smoke at all, either

nlambert182

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.7 Cummins
It does sound like a head gasket. Is the truck tuned? It isn't that common to hear of a 6.7 popping a head gasket unless the boost has been turned way up but I suppose it's possible. When my 6.4 Powerstroke popped the gaskets it didn't smoke either, but there was as slight hint of condensation coming from the exhaust if you watched it really closely.

crash68

ACME product engineer
Staff member
Administrator
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
3.0 EcoDiesel
my 2011 Ram 3500 recently dropped oil pressure. Not completely, but from its usual 40-45 psi to 26 psi.