2015 2500 Purchase Guidance

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

DustyGeneral9399

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Cummins 6.7
Hey everyone, I'm new to the Ram forums so I'm sorry if this is not the right place to ask this question. Mods feel free to remove this post if I'm not in the right place.

I'm at the point where I need to get a truck. I've had several jeeps through the years and currently DD my barn rescue 94 YJ, but I need something with a bed. I've been looking around my area and I found a 2015 2500 with the 6.7 Cummins and 68RFE with only 67k miles on the clock. According to the Carfax it's a one owner truck and the PO had fluids, filters, and misc. maintenance taken care of over the years at the dealership that is selling it.

Like I said, I've built several Jeeps in the past, but this would be my first Ram and my first diesel truck. What are some things I should be looking for when I head to the dealer to check it out and take it for a test drive?

Thanks in advance. I look forward to hearing y'alls wisdom.

Burla

Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
2010 Hemi Reg Cab 4x4
Engine
Hemi
Good trucks, do you need a bed for constant work and load or occasional? If this is a second vehicle I personally would go earlier then 2010 so to avoid DEF. That Cummins will also be hard on the rfe, now the rfe is buildable if you get it pose that question and do some research. Watch for any potential slipping and hesitation when shifting. Also test the tow haul function when driving, especially in the city. I had a cummins and drove one professionally for a decade, they are better then the competition. Hopefully @tjfdesmo chimes in, I think he got rid of a 2500 for a ford, but I think it was the hemi. Let us know if you get it. How much they asking?

OP
OP
D

DustyGeneral9399

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Cummins 6.7