Drive Shaft Problems.. Maybe?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

gc_harvey

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 HEMI
I have a problem with my truck shaking pretty bad between 50mph-70mph. It feels as if the wheels are out of balance, but I have brand new tires and I've even had them checked to make sure of the balance. I've heard from some people that a drive shaft being just a bit out of balance will do that, but I'm not an expert mechanic or anything, so I don't know about that. I got under the truck about 1 month ago and I noticed a little ring around the drive shaft where it comes out of the transmission that looks like a wear/rub and it was about 1/8" from the little rubber boot. I looked at it again last week and it was about 1/4" or bigger. Does that sound like the bearings or seals are bad around the tranny/drive shaft? If anyone could take some pics of their drive shaft and post them on here for me to be able to compare them, I would greatly appreciate it. I'm hoping to get several pictures of different trucks so I can show it to the dealer and have it at the very least checked out, if not replaced. Thanks guys!

OP
OP
G

gc_harvey

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 HEMI
Bump..
My dad has a 2010 Sport 4x4 with 170k+ miles and it doesn't have any of this wear/rub on it. Anyone have any input?

AirborneSilva

Reaction score
Ram Year
2013 Sport
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Maybe you can post a pic of what your talking about so people can see it and come up with ideas...

Casper

U.S. Navy (Ret.)
Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7L
Its a 2012: you're still under warranty. Why not make them tell you where the vibration is coming from?

OP
OP
G

gc_harvey

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 HEMI
They can't find it. I was hoping someone on here could give me some advice on it so I could tell the dealer what I think it is.