Hemi Tick??

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

metalfarm

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
So I have a 2014 Ram 1500 with Hemi 5.7. 45,000 miles.
Sometimes on start up it ticks. Some times it can be fairly loud. It only lasts a few seconds. The tick happens spiratically. Can't predict when it will or when it wont.
Sounds to me like lifters sticking but i'm no mechanic.
I thought it was more of a cold start thing but today it was 86 degrees when I started it and it was the worst I've ever heard it.
Took it to the dealer while still under full warantee they said it was "hemi tick" and theres nothing wrong with it. From the research I've done the "Hemi Tick" remains constant. Mine goes away after a few seconds so wouldn't this be a different problem?
They suggested I put in some oil addative that is only sold at dealerships.
I'm running Mobile One Extended Performance. Can't remember what weight (whatever the fill cap said to use). It seems to happen less after a fresh oil change. Currently has 4600 on this oil change. Is the tick an indication I need to change my oil? Shouldn't I be able to get much more than 4600 miles out of Mobil 1 Extended??

Anyone familiar with this sound? Is it indeed normal? Doesn't sound normal to me.
Thanks in advance.

SyN

6.7L CTD Owner
Reaction score
Ram Year
2017 4WD - Tow Prep Pkg - Off-Road Pkg - 3:42s w/Anti-Slip
Engine
6.7L CTD
Metalfarm: First Off--->Welcome! :big_banana_Dance:

It does Extremely Suck that the Dealership has Zero Solutions for your problem.

I assume you are running 5W-20! M1 EP is an Outstanding Oil. M1 EP has shown through hundreds of UOA to be in fine shape well beyond 8K miles.