Intro and MDS Question - 2016 Big Horn

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

GSchwizzy

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Hello All.

This is Gregg from SE WI... I just converted back over to a Ram owner, bought a 2016 Big Horn 5.7 over the weekend. I'm sure I'll have some questions on the vehicle over time... and it looks like this is a good place to go!

Anyways... I have one question that's been driving me nuts since I bought it, and can't find the answer anywhere. Again, thought folks on here would know...

Excuse my ignorance, but do all 2016 5.7s have the Multi-Displacement engine in them? I'm still learning the layout of the instrument panel, etc... and do not see any sort of 'ECO' indicator showing that ECO mode has been enabled. I checked the owners manual, and unless I missed it (totally possible) it doesn't say anything either...

Did the dealership lie to me? They said it had it.

Now, I know there's a lot of 'back and forth' on the topic... so I don't want this to turn into one of "those" threads, just looking for someone to point me in the right direction for the correct answer. If it doesn't have it, it doesn't have it... I guess the 8-speed will help out with fuel economy. We travel to central WI quite a bit in summer, and while I'm not towing my boat... it would be nice to save some gas. That is, if MDS does actually do that. My wife and I had an 06' 300C (5.7) and we LOVED the MDS on there... that tank got 26-28mpg on the highway!

Ok, enough rambling. Thanks in advance to all for any info you can share. Take care,

Gregg S.

Jwithing

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hello All.

This is Gregg from SE WI... I just converted back over to a Ram owner, bought a 2016 Big Horn 5.7 over the weekend. I'm sure I'll have some questions on the vehicle over time... and it looks like this is a good place to go!