Looking at doing some audio, need help

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

EWC88

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
So my audio in my 02 is just not cutting it. I bought the truck used and the old owner I believe put in Sony speakers and thats it and its just blah to me. With that I think its time to do a upgrade. I listen to all kinds of music and like to have it sound crisp and mellow, but then sometimes I like to have the bass knocking. I am no audio expert at all, more so a noob. My old car I went with crutchfield and had them help me and I was happy. So I talked to their chat today and they gave me some recommendations. I will list what they recommend below:

Speakers: Polk Audio DXi691 and Polk Audio DXi651's
Kicker DSC35 for dash speakers

Wiring Kit: T-Spec V10-DAK4

What I currently own: Infinity Reference 475a 4 channel 75 watts RMS x 4 Amp
Alpine MRP-M450 Mono subwoofer amp 400 watts RMS x 1 at 2 OHMS

Subwoofer: Looking at getting JL Audio stealh box 10" w3

Headunit- Not sure

Now I was planning on using the Infinity amp for door speakers, headunit would power dash speakers. Alpine will operate subwoofer.

Questions:
1. Does this sound like a good system?
2. Good wiring kit?
3. Saw on crutchfield speaker baffles, do I need?
4. Crutchfield says I have to redrill mounting spots, do I need to do any after prep to metal to prevent rust?
5. Headunit recommendations? I was thinking a double din, I don't really need all the fancy stuff a $1k one provides, but want some good features.

Thanks guys!

Graygoose

Indecisive Car Owner
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Ram Year
Convert, for now.
Engine
small
Sounds good to me, is it a RC or 4 door..if RC, use the 4 channel to do 3.5 and doors...and mono amp for sub.