Navigation and vehicle phone...

Discussion in 'Audio & Electronics' started by jimmerz, Dec 28, 2016.

  1. jimmerz

    jimmerz Junior Member

    Age:
    46
    Posts:
    27
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    Ram Year:
    2014
    Engine:
    5.7 Hemi
    So a while back my navigation stopped working accurately. I would be in Pittsburgh but my truck would be driving through pymatuning lake. Or it might be in Ohio somewhere. Then I started getting messages on my screen that the vehicle phone needs service. I don't really use either and I'm out of warranty so I basically ignore it. But I check it occasionally and every once in a while my navigation is back in sync and working properly... It doesn't last long but it does work. I find this issue weird, it's either broke out not. Anyone else existence anything like this?

    Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
     
  2. ramcares

    ramcares Senior Member

    Posts:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    456
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ram Year:
    n/a
    Engine:
    n/a
    Hi jimmerz,

    Sorry to hear about this! If you decide to visit your local dealership for further diagnosis I'd be happy to follow up with them for you if needed. Just PM our page with your VIN and let me know.

    Andrea
    Ram Social Care Specialist
     
    jimmerz likes this.
  3. stimpy433

    stimpy433 Senior Member

    Posts:
    1,276
    Likes Received:
    424
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Ram Year:
    2014
    Engine:
    3.6
    Is your radio software up to date??? That's the first thing I'd check.
     
  4. jimmerz

    jimmerz Junior Member

    Age:
    46
    Posts:
    27
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    Ram Year:
    2014
    Engine:
    5.7 Hemi
    To be honest I don't know. I've never updated it on my own. It was updated through the dealer while under warranty. Am I able to update it myself?

    Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
     
  5. novelmike

    novelmike Senior Member

    Posts:
    379
    Likes Received:
    82
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Location:
    Southern California
    Ram Year:
    2012
    Engine:
    5.7
    If your navigation is not working properly, telling you your not in the same state as you actually are, makes me think its the antenna. I'd check the connection of the GPS antenna on the back of the radio. Other than that, no clue.
     
  6. jimmerz

    jimmerz Junior Member

    Age:
    46
    Posts:
    27
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    Ram Year:
    2014
    Engine:
    5.7 Hemi
    Ok. That makes sense

    Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
     
  7. 57buick

    57buick Senior Member

    Posts:
    172
    Likes Received:
    64
    Joined:
    May 2, 2015
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    Ram Year:
    2015
    Engine:
    6.7L diesel
    man even with no reception you would think it would assume your in the same state you were in before it had connection lol that's weird
     
    jimmerz likes this.
  8. jimmerz

    jimmerz Junior Member

    Age:
    46
    Posts:
    27
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    Ram Year:
    2014
    Engine:
    5.7 Hemi
    Yeah. The vehicle phone needs service. My 911 is out of whack. My subscription is long over, as well as my warranty and my maps are out of date. I'll more than likely follow your instructions 57 and just upgrade my whole unit. I don't use any of the features that stopped working so it's no big deal. Just frustrating that a 3yr old vehicle has that many radio related issues.

    Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
     
  9. Ferro

    Ferro Senior Member

    Posts:
    435
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2016
    Ram Year:
    2016
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    Not to hijack the post but can you update the radios on your own or does the dealer have to do it. I just did a software update on my truck does that do the head unit as well.
     
  10. Brew99

    Brew99 Member

    Posts:
    49
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Location:
    Victoria, Canada
    Ram Year:
    2016
    Engine:
    3.6
    You or your dealer can do the Uconnect updates which are for the head unit only. What "software update" did you do? Or do you mean that you just had your truck in at the dealer and they updated something (ECM?)
     

Share This Page