Need to make buying decision based on towing; Please help!

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Ed Von Boeckman

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Eco diesel
I'm a newbie to the truck/travel trailer world and I'm trying to decide what to buy if anything to pull my new/used travel trailer. The travel trailer can be maxed out 7000.

Dry Weight 5,160 lbs.GVWR 7,000 lbs.Hitch Weight 695 lbs.

I plan to travel about 2 months out of the year out west and into mountains of Colorado.

I currently own a 2005 Yukon XL 5.3 V8 no towing package rated at 8400 pounds. I just purchased this trailer and pulled it back from Tx with this truck. It was a load and gas mileage was about 10. My truck is mechanically sound but has 192K miles on it and seems risky to take on long trips.

Here’s what I’m looking at buying, which seems to be rated a bit lower if my calculations are accurate. Gas mileage would be greatly improved, maybe 15. Any thoughts on purchase? Should I go with 250, keep what I have, get the truck below?

2018 RAM 1500 Laramie - Crew cab
This is the 6 cylinder diesel

Here are a few of the towing options:
20 x 9 Chrome Clad Aluminum Wheels, Cold Weather Group, Engine Block Heater, Power Chrome Trailer Tow Mirrors, Quick Order Package 28H Laramie, Trailer Brake Control, Trailer Tow Mirrors, Trailer Tow Mirrors & Brake Group, Winter Front Grille Cover, 3.55 Rear Axle Ratio, and it has the proper hitch setup and I have the proper weight distribution hitch.

Your help would be greatly appreciated. I have this truck rated 13750 total and 7560 trailer max per the link below. The box is 5’7.

Edit: Site will not let me post link. Googled "2018 Dodge Ram towing capacity chart".

Thanks,

Ed Von Boeckman

Last edited:

Travelin Ram

Reaction score
Somewhere in NA. Probably. We travel a lot.
Ram Year
Engine