TIPM Questions For Body Swap

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Slippy67

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Cummins 6.7
I apologize if I am posting in the wrong section, I've never used the forums before.
I have a 2007.5 2500 6.7L G56 4X4 CCSB ST. Manual EVERYTHING.
I also have a donor 2008 1500 5.7L 4X4 CCSB Laramie Sport. Power everything with no sunroof.
I want to use the 1500 body on the 2500 but I want all the interior and power locks/windows to work like normal.
My assumption is using the TIPM on the 2500 and in theory, plug in the body harness from the 1500 body into it. I at least know it will likely need to be reprogrammed to make that work. I just can't get an answer as to will that work? Or has anyone done something similar to this?

Fishstickz

Reaction score
Ram Year
'06, '16
Engine
3.7, 5.7 Hemi
I sort of did something like this. My '06 was an ST base model as well and I upgraded to power locks, windows, and mirrors. I believe what you're doing should work relatively well--It would probably be best to keep the different computer modules from your '07 so they match up with your TIPM just in case.

Pretty much there's 3 BIG wire harnesses when dealing with interior stuff--
- One between the TIPM and the firewall (I didn't replace this one, just ran a single wire my ST was missing)
- One that runs behind the dash
- One that runs on the floor into the doors and up towards the A-pillars.

If you're using the donor truck's cab then you should be fine, just might consider replacing the airbag module to prevent an unwanted dash light due to a VIN mismatch between the computers. On the TIPM-firewall harness, I just ran a power wire from the TIPM to the power window 12v feed as that was the only wire I was missing.