Towing with a 3.6L V-6 what is safe and realistic for this engine

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Willmsy

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hey everyone, looking for some advice...
The wife and I have been toying around with the idea of getting a travel trailer. I am a novice to this, I understand GCW/GCWR, Trailer Weight, Tounge weight as part of the truck payload capacity.
What I am unsure of is what is actually a safe target for towing without ruining my transmission and what I can tow with the stock setup. What, if any upgrades I should think about. (air bags, etc...)
I have a 2020 Ram 1500 Classic with the 3.6L V-6. Axle Ratio is 3.55, Per the attached chart it says my max trailer weight is 7400lbs.
I was told to target 85% of max as a rule of thumb.
Looking for any info.
Thanks

Attachments

• payload capacity.PNG
    payload capacity.PNG
    19.9 KB · Views: 21

csuder99

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
I used to tow a Nash 17k with a GVWR of 7400 lbs with the 3.6 V6 and 3.55 gears, however it was only 6600-6800 lbs when traveling (plenty of unused storage and I weighed it occasionally). Objectively the truck does fine with the load but if you're traveling in the mountains the high RPMs make it subjectively feel like the engine is within an inch of it's life. Obviously the engineers tested this and signed off on the numbers. Plus, I have driven cars flat out for 10, 15, 30 minutes so I know modern engines can take it.

gfh77665

Reaction score
Ram Year
2019 Classic
Engine
3.6 Pentastar