08 Hemi Rebuild Questions/Problems

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

yesitsgotahemi

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hello all, long time reader/first post. I'm trying to diagnose a very rough idle in my hemi. I just rebuilt the engine and am in the middle of tearing it down again to figure out what is wrong. It's in an 08 Ram 1500 with 205k miles.

Engine specs:
Sealed Power H899CPA Cast/Hyper pistons
New clevite main/rod bearings
stock rods
no work done to crank
heads milled 0.006"
comp cam stage 2 HRT (220/230 .596 lift, 113 LSA)
Can't remember the brand, but springs rated to .600 lift
enginetech non-mds lifters
mds block off plugs
custom length howard cams pushrods
new water pump, oil pump, timing set
fel pro stock thickness head gasket

Basically just a rework.

I'm tuning it myself with HP Tuners. I am not an expert by any stretch of the imagination, however I have seen many tutorials on how to get a hemi to idle right, and none of them are working. The fuel injectors were pulling 38% LTFT at idle. In order to get the fuel trims right, I had to lower the VE to something like 41% which is just not right.

Hear either a exhaust leak or valvetrain clatter at idle. I put on BBK shorty headers, which are extremely difficult to tighten down. However I stuck a hose in my ear and probed the head/header and header/downpipe connections and didn't hear any losses. The old timer screwdriver to the ear trick seemed to indicate a good amount of noise around the valvecover area.