Help Support Ram Forum by donating:


  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

BW 44-44 to BW 44-45 Swap

Discussion in '4th Gen DIY' started by Moparman16, Dec 18, 2018.

  1. chrisbh17

    chrisbh17 Senior Member

    Posts:
    6,318
    Likes Received:
    6,833
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Ram Year:
    2017
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    FWIW the AllDataDIY subscription for my 2017 RAM 1500 shows 3 xfer cases in the Transfer Case section:

    BW 44-44
    BW 44-45
    NV243 (not 246)

    But I dont think the 243 has an auto setting, whereas the 246 *might*...its hard to find info because it seems like its an older unit and was used in Ford and GM as well with slightly different features in each.
     
    Hemi395 likes this.
  2. RVA Ram

    RVA Ram Junior Member

    Posts:
    26
    Likes Received:
    26
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2017
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Ram Year:
    2014
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    This may be a dumb question but I'm curious, would there ever be a situation where the dealership would reset your alfa OBD modifications unknowingly. For instance during a recall could they reset your truck back to the 44-44 settings?
     
  3. Hootbro

    Hootbro U.S. Army Veteran Military

    Posts:
    2,624
    Likes Received:
    1,784
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Location:
    Delaware
    Ram Year:
    2017 1500 Express 4x4
    Engine:
    Pentastar 3.6L
    If the recall or work has them re-flash the BCM, I could see it happening.
     
  4. chrisbh17

    chrisbh17 Senior Member

    Posts:
    6,318
    Likes Received:
    6,833
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Ram Year:
    2017
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    Yes, if the BCM requires flashing for whatever recall they are doing, it could happen.

    The "real" way of adding things after factory build is to have the dealer add the feature(s) to your VIN in the DealerConnect system, which is what is used to re-flash the BCM if it is ever necessary. The problem with that is the dealer is limited to adding features that were only available for your truck and trim level. So, they most likely will not be able to add the 44-45 xfer case to a Big Horn (or higher) trim, because it was never available that way from the factory.

    I dont think the truck "breaks" if you have a 44-45 in it, but with the 44-44 settings in the BCM. 4WD might have issues, but if you swapped a 44-45 in, chances are you know that you'll need to change the BCM settings again before using 4WD.
     
  5. derek anton

    derek anton Junior Member

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Location:
    wyoming
    Ram Year:
    2013
    Engine:
    5.7
    I'm looking at doing this swap on my 2013 8spd laramie using the alpha will I still have the options to select the 44-45 TC
     
  6. Rader

    Rader Senior Member

    Posts:
    102
    Likes Received:
    66
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2016
    Location:
    In the Montana Rocky Mountains
    Ram Year:
    2015
    Engine:
    3.0 Diesel
    I would guess the front differential disconnect locked so you could not spin the driveline but the electric motor on the T case did not shift the T case into 4 hi. Mechanically locking T cases do not slip unless not shifted fully into lock because of somthing like a linkage misadjustment. In that case if slipping it would make a sound like gears grinding or some loud clunking as the coarse splines or dogs tried to engage.
     
    Wild one likes this.
  7. Moparman16

    Moparman16 Senior Member

    Posts:
    198
    Likes Received:
    156
    Joined:
    May 19, 2014
    Location:
    Northern Ontario
    Ram Year:
    2013 Ram 1500
    Engine:
    5.7 Hemi
    Yes, if you follow my step by step guide it should work fine. My truck is a 2013 and it worked.
     
    Mpgrimm2 and derek anton like this.
  8. derek anton

    derek anton Junior Member

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Location:
    wyoming
    Ram Year:
    2013
    Engine:
    5.7
    Cool thanks just picked up a 2017 transfer case with 8500 miles and ordered the obd2 mx+ and downloaded the alpha software
     
    Moparman16 likes this.
  9. derek anton

    derek anton Junior Member

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Location:
    wyoming
    Ram Year:
    2013
    Engine:
    5.7
    I just finished my install of the transfer case just waiting on the 3 button switch to show up just wanted to verify if I can still use the 4 button switch till in shows up? I've seen a couple of posts saying it works.
     
    Moparman16 likes this.
  10. Moparman16

    Moparman16 Senior Member

    Posts:
    198
    Likes Received:
    156
    Joined:
    May 19, 2014
    Location:
    Northern Ontario
    Ram Year:
    2013 Ram 1500
    Engine:
    5.7 Hemi
    I believe others have had the 4 button switch work for them. Just make sure you have the AlfaOBD changes made first.
     

Share This Page